No upcoming meetings 08 Aug 2020

User types

Author: Easy Admin Displayed: 4698
Created: 06 Dec 2017 Updated: 17 Jul 2020
Version: 15
Tags: users
MoreLess

How to work with User types

Define user types to differentiate user permissions, dashboard, and menu. User types can be found in More: Administration: User types. You will see all the existing user types and a possibility to create a new user type.

Image201608101315_1.png

User type = specific permissions, dashboard, menu

There are 15+ predefined global user types in Easy Project. Each user type has a ready-to-use dashboard with features according to particular responsibilities. Complete permissions and workflow are defined for each user type. Permissions and workflow settings are divided into 4 levels (chief, management, executive and external) and implemented by roles & permissions. This makes Easy Project implementation as easy as setting up just 1 option for each user – select his/her user type. However, infinite possibilities of any custom set-up are kept as well as dashboards and menu customizations.

ER---User-types-and-permissions-03-1.jpg

Each user type might have a predefined default role, thus eliminating the need to assign a role to newly created users of specific user types. For the sake of simplicity, default user roles are reduced to a few most common roles in an organization.

Easy Project 2017 Global roles 01.jpg

When you invite new users to the system, you may assign him a specific role already before you send the invitation.

Easy Project 2017 Global roles 05.jpg

For each user type, a customized personal dashboard and user menu are available for immediate use.

Easy_Project_-_Help_Desk_-_Statistics.jpg

Create a new user type

After clicking the button, you will land on this page. 

You can choose here, what you want the user type to see in the top menu, what other users can he see and if it will be a default user type, or if it is an internal user.

Image201608101315_2.png

Examples of user types settings

External

This user, for example, cannot see the more menu button, has the My profile link and log out link on the right. Also, external users cannot log spent time and are not included in Budgets plugin so it is not possible to automatically convert their spent time to money. Therefore, if you have external workers and you need them to report their spent time and/or personal costs, you always need to set them as internal users.

Image201608101315_3.png

Internal

This user has everything enabled except for administration button.

Image201608101315_5.png

Let´s get to the details!

  • Default? Internal?

Checking the option "Default" means this user type will be pre-selected when creating new users. The option "internal" allows to select whether this user type is in-house employee or external worker/client with corresponding permissions.

  • Non-internal users do not see tasks, spent time, attendance and resource management buttons on their user profile.
    Image201608151354_1.png
  • Non-internal users do not see saved public filters anywhere, only their own saved private filters.
  • Non-internal users do not see estimated hours on assigned tasks and neither in resource management.
  • Non-internal users can not see project activity even if they have the permission on the project.
  • Non-internal users do not have access to Social Portal.
  • Non-internal users cannot log spent time and are not included in Budgets plugin so it is not possible to automatically convert their spent time to money.
  • Administrator cannot be non-internal user even if it's set on the user profile.

Image201608101315_7.png

  • Custom menu item

If you want to make it easier for your user to reach something, or you want to restrict them from using the more menu, but still need them to have access to, for example, Knowledge base like you can see here. U can use this nice feature. Check the option in, and add a name and link.

Image201608101315_8.png

It will look like this:

Image201608101315_9.png

  • Visibility options

Here you can choose which user types can see other user types. Or you can select "All" to see all user types. Selecting <<all>> means it will use all existing user types only. New types created from this moment on will not be considered unless <<all>> is selected again after their creation.

Image201608101315_10.png

Add picture from clipboard